Stevenson named club captian, Hernandez to take over vice captaincy

Yakima, Wa – With the departure of Al Valencia, former club vice captain Dennis Stevenson will take over as Yakima United club captain. Stepping into Stevenson’s previous role will be United defender Daniel Hernandez. Together, the two are preparing to lead the Hoppers into 2015 EPLWA action.

When asked about his choices in leadership, Coach Hector Vega had this to say, “Dennis has the experience you want in a captain, and is a natural leader by the example he sets on and off the field. And with Danny, He’s a returning player for us, and someone I’ve known for a long time. He impressed last season, and I think he has the potential to be a real leader for the team.”

IMG_0520

Club Captain Dennis Stevenson taking on South Sound FC in 2014

Taking on a leadership role is nothing new to Dennis Stevenson. “It’s a huge honor for me to wear the band, I’m ready and I understand the role of a captain,” He said. “I’m a positive person and I love motivating my team. I’m proud of my city, Yakima, and honored to be called captain of Yakima United.”

IMG_9412

Hernandez in 2014 EPLWA action against the Seattle Stars

For Hernandez, in his second year with the club, being named vice captain is a milestone and opportunity to be relished. “It’s a blessing and means a lot,” Hernandez said. “I’m glad to be given the opportunity to help lead the team this season. ”

The Hoppers kick off their 2015 season at home to Vancouver Victory FC on April 26th at 1 pm.

Tickets available HERE

Leave a Reply

